Looking for a car - How much power do I need?

Burgerbob

Hi All

I'm looking for my first Westie, primarily for road use with the very occasional track day.

I'm no mechanic hence reliability is a key requirement, but my question relates to how much power should I be seeking?  My current car is a 270bhp hot hatch with c. 220bhp / tonne.  Hence it is not slow, and I very rarely get to use the performance it offers, but doesn't have the rawness that I'm looking for.

Would a 1.8 zetec on throttle bodies leave me disappointed once the new car novelty has worn off?  

Appreciate that the only person who can answer that is me - but what are your experiences on the need for more power?

Cheers

Rob

Welcome!

1.8 Zetec IN A LIGHT CAR will be absolutely more than you need. If you get a big heavy lardy thing with crap (really long) gearing then it'll probably feel slow after a while.

Where are you based.  There may be a area meetings near you you can join

You can look a car options, talk to other members ..who will be more than happy to give you a passenger ride so you can gauge performance

• Like 1

220hp per tonne is  equivalent to 154hp for an average 700kg Westfield, and there is plenty of  Zetec Westfields lighter than that, and gruntier than that.

For 270hp, what is the 0-60 for your current car? What a given Westfield may lack in top speed, sure makes up for in throttle response, noise and drama!

• Like 1

My other toy is a 488bhp Fiat Coupe - roughly 360bhp per tonne. It is utterly ballistic and frankly a bit too quick for the public road (0-100 in about 9 seconds and a top speed somewhere north of 180mph). It's a proper adrenaline rush though, although to get a buzz, it has to be travelling at speeds that would definitely result in a hefty ban and quite possible a stint at Her Majesty's pleasure....