WSCC Trackday Mallory Park

Mark Stanton

WSCC organised Trackday at Mallory Park - Friday 20 August - Details and application form to feature in a future edition of Westfield World  :D

• Replies 98
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mark Stanton

• SteveH

• Tom Frankland (T3OMF)

• Hammy

I'll be there, well hope so anyway...  It is a really great day out and the efforts  in organising it are I'm sure well appreciated. Its an ideal Westfield track IMO and a great chance to met up with people outside of your immediate areas. Really good fun.

Mark, I can't recall much about the build up to this last year ; but would it be worth posting the Rules at an early stage, so they have time to settle in peoples minds?  Sticking my head up into the gun fire I think the over taking in and out of the  hairpin got a bit "interesting" last year, in my group anyway.

In the lower groups people need to realise that drivers are not that experienced (i'm not experienced  and do make mistakes) . The problem i saw was:

A. A tendency for drivers to over take on the right coming into the haripin and getting caught up with people turning into the hairpin who were on the racing line on the left.

B. When coming out of the hairpin the "racing" line takes you over to the right to cut across the apex of the next lh bend ( dunno what its called). Some drivers tried to come out of the hairpin on the left hand side of the track and tried to pass those moving over to the right by driving up the inside. This causing a problem as drivers on the correct line moved over left towards the apex. The moving over to the right seemed to some to be an indication that it was ok to overtake.

I'd like to suggest a total ban on overtaking in this area of the track (at least say in the lower groupings A&B ). The less experienced, me included, would not be "expecting" people to over take here (as its not a race!)  and costly mistakes could be made no matter how careful I think I'm being.