Ford 1600GT donor engine

Tonsko

Hi all,

I'm off to look at my first westie this weekend. I know everyone says don't buy the first car you look at, but I'm really, really bad at that, and unless it has a few obvious teething problems, then I know I will end up buying it.

I have, however, been looking around for about 6 months, and this is the second that I have actually wanted to go and see. The first was sold before I got there.

The principle reason is budget, of course. I initially set my my budget at around 8K, but I have since thought again and don't really want to spend more than 5. This one I'm looking at more than comes in under that, as the chap wants shot as he's buying a new house. That, and the age old story of not having time to drive it and what have you.

He's had it for 2 years, and is a detailer by trade. Chatting to him on the phone has told me that he's the type of person who looks after things and wants things to be 'just so' - in that respect he hasn't tuned his too much, but has done things like taking it to pieces, repainting it all, back together, re-wrapped all the electrics in the bay, replaced the 'overflow' tank from a placcy one to a chrome one, replaced starter motor for a better one, all that kind of thing. Little details.

So, I'm talking myself into buying it, of course. I will be driving it/taken out in it, checking for leaks when cold, hot, starting issues etc.

I suppose what I'm really asking is that, having read the buyer's thread posted by the gentleman with the orange westie and understanding that no-one engine is better than another, has anyone got experience running one of these with the Cortina 1600GT block rebored to 1800, coupled with a 5-speed Sierra box? Any potential pitfalls to look out for? He says it's been rolling roaded to 138 BHP or thereabouts.