• Malvern, Help Registration Closed

Skid lid or not

chumley-warner

1.JPG

2.JPG

I am a true newbie, and I can't wait!

I am just in the process of acquiring this beast. It has no windscreen - duh! The previous owner recommended just sunglasses, but since I already wear glasses, and during our (high speed) test drive I could barely see for the jumping around, do I stay as I am, wear goggles or do most of you without windscreens wear helmets?

If so are they full face? and have any of you been whacked in the face with loose stones?

David

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• chumley-warner

• Buzz Billsberry

• furtive

• Barry Ashcroft

I only have aeroscreens too, but then I only use my car on the race track.

I would not drive it without a helmet.  If I was to drive it on the road I would not trust mere sunglasses.  I have been hit with stones before that would have destroyed sunglasses.  However depending on how low you sit in the car, and how effective your aeroscreen is, you might be able to get away with sunglasses - but you will need to check their safety levels - ie glass may not be the best option - perhaps these sports sunglasses may be better as they will not throw shards of glass in your eyes.  Of course this still leaves you open to stones hitting your face, but that will merely hurt and cut you, and not blind you!

I fitted an aeroscreen last week, and have covered a couple of hunderd miles on the road with it.  I have a decent pair of sunglasses (Wiley) which are impact resistant and will not (hopefully) shatter if hit by a stone.  I find they are fine for country lane driving and driving around town, but for long distances on dual carriageways & motorways a helmet is a good bet.  Personally I would not recommend just wearing prescription glasses AFAIK the lenses could shatter if hit by a stone.

If you visit a decent motorbike shop you can get decent goggles (Oakley) that will fit over glasses.