X-flow to Zetec

lloydie33

Hi to all,

Bit of a newbie here...

Having just bought a cheap 91ish SEi with X-flow motor of unknown health - it's been sitting a while, I wondered how realistic it would be to upgrade to something like a 2L Zetec?

I haven't had too much luck yet with the search button but Zetecs look less hassle and cheaper than a XE redtop conversion.

I'm not looking for mega power - 150-170bhp would be nice though.

Could I use the type 9 gearbox as a direct fit and also the twin 45 carbs off the X-flow set-up?

I was thinking about about an ex-salvage motor but am worried about what else I'll need.

Spanners I'm OK with but ECU's worry me!

What do I need to upgrade rear drums to discs? Do I really need to for road use?

Any advice & costs involved gratefully received.

Unfortunately my budget is not something to overly brag about.

And finally, yes I have printed off a wscc membership form.

Thanking you kindly

Steve

I think there's quite a bit in the archives on this conversion  ???

What about a rebuild and a few goodies on the crossflow you already have  ???

Your going to need to cut a new hole for the Zetec exhaust sytem for a start, then a different manifold for the webers (which will need re-jetting and setting up)

To save some money you could go for an ignition only ecu, but it all depends on budget i'm afraid :down:

Do a price comparison for the zetec install and a rebuild and tune of your crossflow...

Then decide which way you want to go  :t-up:

Dont discount the XE purely on cost grounds. I reckon it would cost you as much money to have a Zetec power your car is it would a redtop...

And a search will definately reveal which is the better of the two...  :p  :devil:  :durr:  :D

But seriously, both are likely to cost at least around 1500GBP to fit, according to how inventive/lucky/mechanically minded you are. That kind of money will go a long way on fettling the little Xflow motor.