• Malvern, Help Registration Closed

Building a Westie at school

johnnystorm

Hi everyone,

I'm a teacher and planning to run a project at school whereby our students will build a kit-car, sell it on and the proceeds will be used to help keep the project going.

We aim to use the project to keep some of our less academic students interested in education and hopefully give them some skills that will be useful in later life. For ease of construction and inevitable resale I have probably narrowed the field to either a Westfield or a Caterham. I appreciate that the people here might have some bias  ;) but I would appreciate any advices, hints or tips you would care to share. The final bit might also be to  ask if anyone here is in the market for a brand new Car and what spec would they like :D

We are considering the Westfield kit that retails for 13k all in (missing only the hood). Any experiences of this model or what might be likely pitfalls!

Thanks for reading this far, JS :)

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• johnnystorm

• oldman

• timd

• adhawkins

Top Posters In This Topic

One comment would be build to the highest standard possible and then some.

Do not use cheap products as you will pay later.

And choose the right colour.

Now thats a debate all of its own  :p  :p  :p  :p

Good luck anyway

First thing I would say is that you'd be very lucky to build a car, and then sell it and break even, never mind turn a profit.

Sounds like a great project, particularly in terms of keeping less academically minded pupils interested...

The only comments I have to make are that you'll need a much bigger budget to get started building a Caterham than you will a Westfield, and that to increase your potential market when you come to sell it on, build something that's a 'tourer' rather than a track monster (as there will be a bigger market for the former).

Best of luck.

Andy