• Malvern, Help Registration Closed

Calling people in IT....

mmmmdonuts

I remembered from that post a while ago that there are a lot of IT people that post on here.  So here is my problem.  My girlfriend wants to quit her job, and travel the world for a year.  I would love to go too.  She is an accountant so can just walk into another job when she gets back.  I work in IT.

So, with 5 years coding Tandem Cobol (doing the whole lifecycle thing, implementations, analysis, speccing, etc etc), and a few months SQL/Oracle/Unix, will I be able to get a job when I get back?  Do you know anyone that is currently job hunting and having trouble?  I have heard of a few.  The company I work for at the moment is making about 1/6th of the workforce redundant, so the decision might be made for me anyway.

If I don't go, I'm sure I will regret it later in life.  If I do go and can't get a job when I get back, I will definately regret it.

Its keeping me awake at nights, so I thought I'd ask.  Any helpful advice greatly received, as are any amusing comments.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mmmmdonuts

• Mark Stanton

• Bananaman

• Mamon

??? ….am I missing something. You’re working in (yawn) IT and you’ve got the chance of travelling the world for a year and, you can’t decide what to do?

:p …..you’re on this planet but once. This isn’t a dress rehearsal or an aperitif for something else. So, stop reading this and contact your GP to arrange your Malaria jabs.

I see your point.  Don't think I haven't thought that.  If I quit, I will have a fantastic year that I will remember for the rest of my life, but if I can't get a decent job when I get back, then the rest of my life won't be have Westfields and nice holidays in it.  There is a lot of the rest of my life left (I hope).

As Mamon says, you only live once. :0 go for it.