"Another newbie"buying advice sought

Jmanji

Hi there, im a total beginner, been looking to buy a track/road car the Westfield seems perfect, road use will be to and from track unless I can get the trailer and car for around £5k. Looking to do fun track days with reliability comfort and reasonable running costs but something I would not think was underpowered.

Not sure what to look for exactly, please could someone kindly advise what type I should look at ie engine size, gearbox, LSD and brakes. I know the wider body is preferential but am unsure of anything else, I really don't want to buy the first thing I see but would rather make an informed decision once I know what to look for and what not to look at?

Hope you have the time to help.

Thx

Welcome, you'd better join now as you'll need a lot of help. Not sure what you'll get for that budget but don't hanker after huge power for you first car. A crossflow will seem like the fastest thing on earth. When you've had that for a year or so upgrade it for a Zetec or similar. 

You'll get huge fun from a crossflow or CVH as a first trackday car.

Oops it is in for sale and reads

Westfield SEiW C20XE

Started by chasf42, 01 Jul 2013 08:34 PM

Thx

Welcome to the Forum Jmanji :t-up:

To get you started have a read through the FAQ section of the forum where there are several good articles on the different types of cars, components and some buyers guides.

Here's a couple of examples to get you started :)

http://forum.wscc.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic/42064-purchasing-a-westfield/?p=416904

http://forum.wscc.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic/46932-buyers-guide/?p=464865

And don't forget to then check out our cars for sale section :cool:

http://forum.wscc.co.uk/forum/index.php/forum/88-westfields-for-sale/

Myself and Pete (Pistol) are the area organisers for the Essex Region, if you ever have any questions or need advice please feel free to ask either of us and we'd be happy to help if we can.

Mark

• Like 2