A few questions before buying a kit

Nizztos

Hi all,

I'm planning on buying a Westfield kit real soon now .

I do however have a few questions as I'm a complete noob to these things.

First of, I'm from Sweden so our rules, while similar, differ a bit. For instance I can't have more power than 15kW/100kg weight of vehicle (including driver, tools and fluids). I also can't buy a complete kit as in order to pass our version of IVA the car has to be build "from scratch". We can get away with a body and frame, most of the time, from a kit but the rest we have to source/build on our own.

My plan is to build with a SAAB engine. That is a fairly tall engine and the builds I have seen have used the V8 bonnet. I will for sure use the FW body but will probably need the V8 bonnet. Does anyone know the difference between the FW bonnet and the V8 one when it comes to room for a tall engine? I.e. how much taller can an engine be under the V8 bonnet?`

I have seen pictures of the V8 bonnet fitted with the FW rear. Is that a standard fitment, as much as anything when it comes to these things, or are there things that has to be cut/changed to make that fit?

Are there hubs available with a different lug configuration? I know the default ones are 108/4 but I would really like to have 100/4. I know I can put spacers on there but it would be a chicken or egg kind of thing as I would not know the size of the spacers until I get the rims and I would not be able to fit them due to incorrect lug configuration.

I would like the best turning circle that I can get (this is not a track car and there will be city driving with tight parking spaces etc). Are there anything specific I should plan for or get to make that happen?

We don't have a requirement on de-misting/frosting of our windscreens in an open car. If I ever get a soft top it would be a half hood. Do I need/want the electric windscreen or is the standard better in this case?