SS 1st timer questions

Dodgey

Hi - I've read the various faqs and the 2013 SS regs. A couple of questions

- As a total novice, and hoping to spend as little as possible - I assume I'll be in class A (I have a 1600cc narrow, in standard road trim)? 

- I see there is no special class regarding aero screens etc, or the most basic of tyres (1A I think), which I'm sure I read about last year. This means, I assume, I'm going to have to buy an aeroscreen, plus some 888's?    I'm sure I read there was a class where you could only have a standard screen and basic tyres - was that last year?  This will otherwise make my 1st foray into sprinting a touch more costly.

p.s. do people manage to regularly swap their standard road screen with an aero screen without much hassle and damage? I really don't want an aero screen for day to day use. (I'm assuming I'll severely handicap myself if I dont' use an aeroscreen?)

- MSA licenses renew each year I believe in December?- do I buy mine on Jan 1? 

Any other tips gratefully received

p.s. I have car/camper and trailer, total novice with 2 track days behind me. I plan to travel as far as Midlands/North Wales and as far South West as needed (Somerset based) - so I'll be looking at 5 to 10- events I guess.

For this Comming year the speed series rules have been tweeked a bit from previous years to allow both list 1a and 1b tyres into classes A and B. this gives you the choice to use either, so if you're looking to save some money then you don'thave to change tyres if you dont want to. In my first year I had to switch tyres for each sprint as my road tyres were inelegable for class A, in the second year I opted instead to run in one of the higher classes where I could use them. Under these new rules I can now run the same tyre on the road and the track in class A so that should save me a fair amount of time in the garage.