About to order - Zetec tuning options

Joeb_444

Hi all,

Forum newbie here - I'm about to order a complete kit from Westfield but need some advice on the 2.0 Zetec engine. I understand the duratec would be the best option for performance but unfortunately my budget won't stretch to it. I'm thinking of going for the £1400 throttle body upgrade to get 170bhp, but is there anything else I should consider to get the best performance from the zetec without spending a fortune?

I doubt I'll ever have the car on a track but am looking for a fast road car which remains usable. Any advice on upgrades would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Joe

there is a 9 month old factory Zetec for sale on here. You wouldn't build it for anything like the price asked. Of course if you mainly want to buiild that's a different argument .

there is a 9 month old factory Zetec for sale on here. You wouldn't build it for anything like the price asked. Of course if you mainly want to buiild that's a different argument .

Looks a good buy for someone but the build is 90% of the attraction for me.

I drove a zetec with the "Ford" injection set up

For what it's worth the extra universal joints required to get the steering column round the injection manifold made the steering feel unconnected and mushy

The steering feel with jenveys and a simple straight column without the extra joint is worth the jenvey money

Oh and you get some horses and 4 trumpets masked by a foam filter as well...

Bob a job

FWIW, have a stock 2l Silvertop on TBs and it's excellent. Fraction shy of 170bhp, superb driveability, even economical too (often get over 30mpg in normal driving). Excellent VFM I think. Of course you can get more from tuning, but it soon adds up cost-wise. Cams will be an easy £500 straight away and without head work, aren't going to give an awful lot more, so it soon becomes the dripping tap syndrome. Fine if you have the desire and budget of course.

You can always revisit tuning later anyway.