wind shield uprights

bioman

Can anyone tell me if wind shield uprights are the same on narrow and wide bodied Westfields?

OK, I'll ask - why?

And they're similar but not identical, some modification needed when fitting, but possible for the mechanically competent.  Which leaves me out.

Thanks for the reply Captain. Why? Because I saw saw a pair on E Bay and thought they could be good to have for spares? As a complete Newbie (so this is a silly question) is there an item showing compatable body parts for wide , narrow etc?  Just gleaming info for my new toy.

I shouldn't worry about getting spare windscreen supports.  They won't wear out and are robust even in an accident.  Plus there's frequently someone in here converting to aeroscreen who doesn't need them any more.  I'd save me money personally unless yours are awful and they bug you. Apart from the nose cone (I think!), the body parts are not compatible.

Good advice I'm sure and noted, mine are in VGC. May I ask this additional question? "are  nose cones interchangable then?"

Again, unless someone corrects me, highline narrows and wides are roughly the same, but the mouth openings are different diameters.  Prelits and very early narrow lowlines are different.

Ta! Will check, have a feeling I have a narrow lowline. Unless from my pic you know more?

Almost impossible to tell the difference without a tape measure.  Highline is about two inches taller at the rear where it meets the bonnet.  Probability is you have a highline, lowlines are very rare.  Mine is a highline if you look at my sig photo.

Thanks Captain, I don't think you need one but you could be my "New best friend", learning all the time.

Just don't assume I'm always correct or I know it all, that's Gadgetman and Blatman's job!  I do what I can, mate!

:blush: