Which Westfield

ASTiMAN

Hello everyone. I'm new to the Westfield scene, but have been looking around for a little while.

Having sold my extensively modified 422bhp Impreza last year (and winning the local hillclimb event in April 2007, beating a Caterham R500) I am looking to venture into something cheaper to run for hillclimbs and track days, with the occasional road use.

So, I've thought about a megabusa or something with around 200bhp (vauxhall, ford?) preferably on throttle bodies. My budget would be somewhere around £13k max.

Could anybody shed some light on the pros and cons of each?

My thoughts are:

Megabusa

Lightweight, sequential box, high revving, low torque, reliability?

Vauxhall, Ford Engined

Weighs more, no sequential box (for my budget?), greater torque, better reliability?

Any help would be greatfully appreciated and also if anyone knows of suitable cars for sale. There seems to be a lot about but not many that exactly fit what I'm looking for.

Kind regards

Andrew

Hello and welcome to the site. £13k seems to get quite a decent spec second hand Westfield - and certainly the sort you're looking at come up from time to time on here. My personal preference is for the Vaux engined car - only because that's where my knowledge lies (having eeked similar power from mine to your Scoob).

For your total budget of £13k you may well pick up a decent Vaux / Ford engined car and then have enough cash left over to buy a 2nd hand quaife or elite sequential box though.

Thanks. I am kind of swaying away from the bike engined cars mainly because I am unsure about longevity and reliability (although I do love the sound and sequential boxes). I quite like the look of this:

http://boardroom.wscc.co.uk/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=9;t=65357