SEW 2 litre for hill climbs and sprints

Richard Houlgate

I’ve a lot of experience trailing an Austin 7 and before I get too old thought I’d like to try the same, but on tarmac using a car derived from the Austin. I live 15 minutes from Loton Park.

I’ve no experience of tarmac speed events and would like to find a suitable car. I’ve tried several narrow bodied cars and find that the pedals are too near; my knee hits the steering wheel when I go for the brake pedal (not ideal)

So I need a SEW. I’d also like a 2 litre as I’ve always wanted to compete at the VSCC Pomeroy trophy instead of flag marshalling (the engine needs to be >1950cc). A Duratec would be ideal.

As a beginner in this branch of motorsport it would seem sensible to buy a car which has already been used in competition, but with the proviso that I would also like to be able to use it on the road on sunny days.

Having looked through the adverts I think I should be able to get something for £6-7k, am I right? Does someone have something suitable? Email me on richard@houlgate.co.uk.

Thanks.

Richard Houlgate

A Duratec powered car and a budget of 6-7k are not really compatible  :t-up:  the Duratec engine has only just started to be used by the factory and AFAIK only a couple of guys on here have re-engined older cars but they'd have spent at least that just on changing the engine, assuming it's not just a standard one.....

What you should get is either a Pinto or maybe a 2ltr Zetec/Vx engined car for that money   ;)

Thanks very much for your advice.

What are the pros and cons of the Pinto, Zetec and Vauxhall engines?

How much extra do you think I would have to pay for a Duratec powered car?

And (last question!) do you know of one for sale? Or that might be for sale?

Many thanks

A brief summary, that'll likely start an argument:

Pinto is 'old' and heavy.

Zetec is light, but costs more to get 'big' power.

Vx is also quite heavy, but cheaper to turn to 'big' power.

Andy