• Malvern, Help Registration Closed

A big HELLO to all from a new member in Cheshire!

avsum

Hello to everyone from a new member in Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire. I will be in contact with Steve Davies soon to attend the next Cheshire area meeting, so look forward to seeing some of you then.

I collect my MegaBlade kit on the 29th of this month, and simply cannot wait. I'm spending all my time trying to get my garage as waterproof and warm as possible - to make the 4-5 months I'm going to spend in there building it as pleasant as I can. I've bought it for both road and trackday use, and have set myself the target of Mallory Park on the 22nd of July as the date to have it built and SVA'd.

I'm no mechanic, and in particular I'm no engine expert. I bought the kit that gets me every single bit I need - except engine and wheels. And this is precisely what I need some help with.

Firstly the engine. I know I want a Honda Fireblade block, and I think I want it pre 1995 to make the build easier and a) avoid needing a catalytic convertor and b) give me the option of adding better carburettors to tune it in future? Is it true that if you have a post 1995 Fireblade engine the gears change the other way round, ie stick forwards to change up? Apologies if my lack of technical prowess has made you giggle! What have other MegaBlade owners done? What would your recommendations be?

Secondly the wheels. I was going to go for the ordinary "Classic" wheels from Westfield at £680 for 4, but have since realised I want split rim alloys - to save the weight. My problem is that I simply don't have £1300 with which to buy them. Can anyone recommended a good place to get light, good looking wheels second hand for nearer to £500?