Which motorbike for a first timer ?

steve_m

Last time I rode a motorbike I was about 10 or 11 years old and it was a rather nice Yamaha DT125.  Bit slow but great fun.  I'm going to take the direct access course to a bike licence in a few months and I was wondering what kind of bike people here with bikes would recommend I look at ?

What I'd like is a GSXR1300 but that's also what's put me off getting a bike for years - I'd not be around for very long if I started on that I'm sure.

I thought (being sensible) something like a 500 would be about enough to start with, mabe a sports or touring bike rather than a superbike ?

Any suggestions ?

Also, what should I be looking for in a helmet and leathers ?  Anything to avoid ?

Is there a recognised advanced riding course I can go on ?  CBT plus four days on a school bike isn't going to give me the skills I'm going to need.

Many thanks, Steve

Hi Steve, I'm a motorcycle instructor (part-time) so I feel qualified to help.

Get the bike YOU want and take some advanced instruction when you've done your test.

The capacity and performance of the bike really IMO is not relavent, a modern sports 600 has more than enough performance to kill you as does a 125 scooter if you'r doing the wrong thing at the wrong time in the wrong place........

Buying a smaller bike than you want will get fustrating pretty soon as you'll pine for the Gixer 1300.

When you sell and upgrade to the Gixer you'll loose money so spend the cash you'd loose on further training and get the Gixer in the first place.

Modern (sports) bikes are so easy to ride these days you'll find the Gixer as docile around town as an ER500 only a damn sight quicker when you open it up.

How fast it goes depends on the discipline you have with your right hand  :0  :0  , how safe you are depends on how disciplined you are riding within your limits (the GSXR will have far higher limits than you probhably ever will have) and how well you ride defencivly.

HTH Chaz.