• Malvern, Help Registration Closed

Help...

Phil_G

Hi,

hoping that I may be pointed in the right direction.  My 1800 zetec (twin carb) has suddenly started mis-firing / popping / stalling and generally lacking power.  I'm going to check plugs and basic air leaks tonite, but noticed that I have a 2.5 cm wide rubber pipe coming from the top of the engine and not connected to anything at the moment.  Any thoughts on what this is and where it should go - and would it affect my popping problem?  I don't think it is anything to do with cooling system and it's certainly not included in the build manual I have.

As you can probably tell I am a very virgin newbie when it comes to engine tinkering.  

cheers

Does this come from the back right hand corner of the cam cover?

If so it is a breather pipe which lets the engine breath.  These are often run to a catch tank to catch any oil which may be breathed out, but as far as I know if it is just left to vent to atmosphere it wont cause any damage.

2.5cm sounds very big for one though.  Anyone any thoughts?

Thanks. Mat - the rubber pipe is the one you refer to and seems generally harmless.  Took a look at the carbs and everything seems to be firmly in place.  

I did notice two of the cylinders (middle two) seem to be much cooler than the outer 2 - would these be the ones mis-firing.  I had a cylinder head melt years ago (on an old suzuki) and I'm hoping this isn't the same thing - damn expensive.

I did notice two of the cylinders (middle two) seem to be much cooler than the outer 2 - would these be the ones mis-firing.

Mmm. Sounds like you could have an igniton problem. It is highly likely that you car is fitted with what is known as 'wasted spark' ignition' which fires a pair of spark plugs for each rotation of the crank. The pairs being 1 and 4, 2 and 3.