Taken the Plunge!

Mitchamidilly

Hello everyone,

Well I have taken the plunge. I ordered my stater kit yesterday and my new shed is due tomorrow! (just need to clear my garage out now) After taking advice from my first two posts I decided on the following:

Must have Zetec 2.0l (cannot afford new)

Must have the chrome package

My daughter chose red! (I will try not to refer too much to Post Office Red)!

Now looking for engine and donar parts....

I am new to the Zetec engine and would welcome some advice. Should I go for a pre 95 engine without a cat or should I just look for a new engine with low mileage? All those sensors worry me a little so what should I ask of the breakers? (I imagine they just rip the lot out and leave any required sensrs)  I used a web service and was offered a complete cable gearbox and engine package for £350 on a P plate with 59k (would welcome comment here). Could I fit carbs to a post 95 engine? Also I need to prove the age of the engine and breaker do not seem to have the V5 document available. Are Ford able to send a letter to prove the age?

Sorry for all the questions and I know I have a long way to go but I would like to be sure of engine spec at an early stage.

Cheers,

Mitch

Mitch,

The engine age and cat etc is all dependant on which form of fuelling you are going to use. If you are going the carb route then you will need the pre 95 engine in order to pass the emission test at the SVA.

If you are going with fuel injection then you can use a newer engine but will need a cat.  You can obtain the proof of age letter from the Ford technical department, you just need to provide them with the engine number.

My car runs on carbs due to build budget but if I had the choice then I would choose fuel injection.

Which gearbox did you stipulate when ordering the chassis?  The type 9 is the best one to go for rather than the MT75 if you ever want to change the ratios once upgradeitis sets in :D

Hope this is of some help

Rich.