Lincolnshire Newbie

daveclow

Hi everyone,

I collected my Westfield today and joined the club. New car day is up there with the best!

It’s a 1998 SE 1700 Crossflow producing 120bhp. It’s a recently completed lockdown project by a chap who’s done a really nice job on it. I’m not a mechanic but interested in learning so I wanted something ready to drive and this ticks all the boxes. 
As a beginner in these cars I felt it sensible to start with modest power, as much as I love going fast. The first drive was spectacular, I couldn’t stop smiling. The noise from the carbs is addictive. Driving on familiar roads was awesome and something I’ve dreamt about doing in one of these cars for over 20 years.

Rather unfortunately I stopped for fuel during the 2.5 hour drive home and it wouldn’t start again. I’m getting the “click” but it won’t turn over. A nice bystander gave me and push and I jump started it to carry on home. This evening it still won’t start so I’ve popped it on the trickle charger which read less than 50% charge. My gut feeling is the starter needs some loving.

The first modification will be raising the steering wheel a bit for more knee room. I can’t really drive too fast as my knees are in the way of my hands at the moment. Anyone have any pointers here? The seat is bolted into position as far back as it can go. I’m 6’3” but must have long legs 😅

I hope to see some of you out and about.

cheers,

Dave

480D4552-DC39-444D-B3E9-5672460B3999.thumb.jpeg.c0fae40f525989bd5352e04523d934d1.jpeg

965ACF68-D796-4C2F-B9FE-25D032FEE588.thumb.jpeg.d9fea48a0995d19d1347d0832b8c261f.jpeg72699F70-6FE4-4A2A-AE0E-83ACE72EF63E.thumb.jpeg.4a9f1dcc875171a1faeefdaca762ab40.jpeg

10686439-A805-4440-8622-2D23F70FC9C6.jpeg

• Like 6

welcome from Northampton . Lovely looking car. 

• Thanks 1

Welcome! Nice looking car.

• Thanks 1

Welcome from South Derbyshire 👍

I'm 6ft 5, so feel you pain... my first car was similar in having no lowered floors.