Not a mid-life crisis in Kent.

tr1stan

Hello everyone!

After spending most of lockdown drooling over a number of 7 style cars, joining a bunch of Facebook groups and test-driving a couple of MKs, I finally bit the bullet, sold my Motorbike and a mint MX5, that I had used for the odd track day,  and purchased a SEIW from another member of this forum a couple of months ago. With it being nearly 300 miles away, I did something that I have never done before and bought the car without even seeing it, mad really but after some really good conversations with the previous owner the deposit was paid and transport via Shiply was sorted. The car is in need of some love, but I really enjoy working on them when I get a chance and see this as a long term relationship where I can spend winters tidying her up and summers getting the buzz you can only get from a 7. 

The car is running a C20LET with just under 290bhp, which is probably crazy for a first 7 but if you're going to have a mid-life crisis, do it properly is what I say! 😄 I've bought the ECU interface cable, which has already helped me identify a faulty TPS (which I manage to fix) and I'm in the process of stopping the fuel tank from wanting to wiggle its way out of the boot, but with two tiny kids in the house, I appreciate any excuse to lock myself away in the garage when I can! I do have some stationary coolant/heating issues which I'm hoping isn't anything more sinister than a radiator/thermostat/piping issue, but more on that later I'm sure.  

I've done about 100 miles so far, but with the weather now getting much better I'm looking forward to some longer runs and really getting some heat into the tyres! 

I've included a picture of my wife in the car, smiling away before I took her out for the first time 😆 

I'm based in Hythe in Kent, I'd be interested in hearing from and meeting members local to me as lockdown starts easing 👋  

IMG_9636.jpg

IMG_9608.jpg

IMG_9801.jpg

IMG_9665.jpg

• Like 6