Looking to buy new Westfield

GWatson

Morning guys.

I am a true newbie, well to Westfields anyway, sold my Tiger Super Cat last October.

I am currently looking at buying a 2003 zetec seiw. The car looks really good and I am very tempted. My only concern is it has a MT75 gearbox installed without a quickshift extension.

If I fit a quickshift extension will I have to take the engine out and will the hole for the gear stick be in a different, place therefore having to change the carpet.

My  other option is to fit a type 9 gearbox, again will i get away with the existing hole or will I still need a new carpet set?

Think Ill upgrade to a lightened flywheel which ever gearbox I choose to go with. I believe you have to change the clutch, start motor and flywheel when going for a lightened stell flywheel with the zetec\mt75.

Thanks in advance guys.

Graeme

I'm no expert on this, having only ever had a Type E box but it sounds like the Type 9 is the box to choose, particularly if you fancy getting a new set of gears at any time (eg new ratios or straight cut etc...).  By fitting a type 9 into an MT75 tunnel, you can also shift the zetec further back in the car for better weight distribution. I'd imagine it would be a fair old job to swop boxes though and potentially expensive.  I don't think there's much wrong with an MT75 but if you prefer the idea of a type 9, it may be better to hunt down a car with one already fitted.

Although Type 9 is preferred option box by most new builds cos of better ratios and siting etc.

Don't dismiss a used Westfield with one fitted  ;)  ;)

Quickshifts are available and Westfield do a kit for them  ;) How easy it would be to retro fit - I don't know  :(

Why not speak to Mark Walker Westfields Techy guy - he'll be able to advise if no-one provides an answer for ya  ;)  :D

The car as a 3.62 rear diff so the ratios with a MT75 shouldn't be too bad as standard.