Steering Wheel *SOLD*

Paul T

Raid 300mm steering wheel with custom WF logo centre.

6 x 74mm PCD, in excellent condition.

£65 posted

C6FDC203-FB2B-4E62-B134-28C4867D7103.thumb.jpeg.31f2892caabe9053d75b4d709d6636a7.jpeg

DD505D4C-C34E-4826-9F5C-6E84C54D6A63.thumb.jpeg.b391ea0f13c17a7a762333874bd39dc5.jpeg

8ECF1997-D1B6-49D9-A019-A945711EE477.thumb.jpeg.de951aa34494e155d735b4a24552cf8b.jpeg

I have no idea mate sorry, I’ve seen people in the past stick crash pads on to similar wheels for IVA test but I’m no expert so best to check with someone who is up to speed with all that stuff.

There are two elements to the Steering wheel assembly the factory supplies for IVA purposes.

The wheel itself, which gains compliance through the use of a heavIly padded crash-pad that completely covers the  spokes as viewed from the driving seat. And the collapsible boss that it mounts on, to attach it to the steering column.

The Westfield standard steering columns (Ie non SDV columns) are not collapsible in the IVA sense of the word. The standard steering wheel boss is collapsible.

The factory arrangement has gone through crash testing and limited type approval on several occasions. So, has been satisfactorily proved fit for purpose, should an IVA inspector query it.

One other thing to be aware of, generally known as the law of unintended consequences! The standard dashboard layout, is designed around a standard wheel, with a standard diameter. There is an exclusion zone on the dash, slightly larger than this diameter, in which nothing gets tested for too sharp radii. If you changed the steering wheel to a much smaller wheel, be very careful you don’t also inadvertently shrink the exclusion zone to the point where switches gear that cannot pass the radii test is suddenly out of the zone and able to be checked!

Experienced, decent, IVA Inspectors tend to know Westfields well, and know what basically passes if assembled properly. Including the standard wheel arrangement.