new to speed series

fordy

Hi,

Im new to the SS this year - Im wondering which are the best events to enter - my car wont be on the road til beginning of May. Are there any details of the tracks/difficulty listed anywhere - Im only probably going to be entering 6 or 7 events, and im looking for the easiest ones to bring me in gently - dont want to bend the car in the first year :(

Im also based in berkshire (down south), so closet/easiest ones would be nice - dont want much do i !!!!!!

thanks

chris

First off, there are no easy tracks......Curborough is quite user friendly though........The "Southern" events this year would be Curborough (yes yes, I know......), Lydden (which is good, but has close-ish walls), Goodwood (fast......), North Weald (nothing to hit at all......), Dunkeswell and Wiscombe (both in Devon, Wiscombe is well worth the trip, but bl**** scarey. It's my favourite.....), maybe MIRA, and Loton Park (midlands, like Curborough), and Boscombe Down in Wiltshire (again, nothing much to hit). For a list of most of these have a look here. Curborough has it's own web site here.

You can't drive around with half your concentration taken up by trying to not bend the car, 'cos you'll make a mistake, and bend it........

As with track days, build up slowly, and only go at a pace at which you are comfortable. The times will come. Unless you are pretty special behind the wheel, don't expect to be competitive, except with me. I'll race anyone for last place!!