Birkett 6 hour relay

Keith Scarfe

Hi All.

Who's heard of the 'Birkett 6 hour relay' then? I am doing it this year with a team of 3 other Westfield Drivers. Anyone else doing it or going? I've never done anything like this before - endurance racing. I have read the rules and have got the gist of what to do. There is a team (4 in our case but can be up to 6) and as one car comes into the pits (stints will be determined by fuel tank size) another leaves straight away so there are no pit stops as such, hence relay. We hope to do about 300 laps in 6 hours. There is a race per class and also a handicap race based on average (pre quoted) lap times. I was just wondering if there is anyone out there who maybe has done this before or knows about it who can give any friendly advice/comments.

One we have learnt is to have someone ready on a push/motor bike so that if a car breaks down they can get to it and get the transponder back in time.

What else?

The race is this Saturday 26th October at Silverstone (national cct). Anyone want to come along? It should be a laugh. Non championship race and we are doing it for charity if any one wants to help in that way. It is in aid of Macmillan cancer relief. So a good cause.

Cheers.

Keith Scarfe.

Hi Keith,

Theres a bunch of 4 or so of us doing a trackday at Rockingham on friday. We're staying in the silverstone travel-lodge on friday night and will be coming to Silverstone to spectate the Birkett.

So, will say hello if you dont look too busy.

Cheers,

Al

Keith,

There is a team of c******ms too so it will be interesting to see if you can beat some K series cars. Lets hope its a good scrap.

Points to note from an observer who's been before:

1) Make sure you have someone ready to go out when one of your other team members is out on track. I.e. Strapped in car with helmet on and lap transducer attached to car.

2) Have a chase person ready on a push bike to collect transducer in case of broken down car.