electrics...

speedy blue

a week ago rear offside light wasnt working had resistance in cable from backlight to light switch on dashboard .this week went out and nowwhen i turn main headlights on from side lights it blows 20amp fuse any ideas if are there are any relays although i cant hear them or other connections that might be loose and there wherabouts in the car ... many thanks

im no expert but you could have a broken wire.  

like i sayed im no expert so im probably wrong :D  :bangshead:

have you checked all you wires?

i think i have a loose/boken wire but cannot find it at the mo, i would like to know how the lights are wired and where they go when they leave the back of the dashboard rocker switch. all help and ideas are greatfully accepted dudes cheers

It would only blow a fuse if there is a short somewhere. Check the loom and make sure it's not being chaffed somehwere and shorting to the chasis. The only idea I have at the mo

i see your a fellow DUDE  :D  :cool: .

the wires should come out of the dash then through the top of the gbox tunnel/through the tunnel to the back of the car. they should be cliped or cable tied to the chassis.

def sounds like a short.

which fuse is blowing? - on our car (SEIW madness recent) the only 20A fuse is for the fuel pump.

do you have a multimeter?

have got multimeter all ican say is that theres a 20a fuse that blows as soon as i put main beam on its fine with dipped beam and rear os light has never worked but mhen using meter there is resistance between back of dash switch and the bulb holder at rear of car two seperate probs but struggling with both. ???

yes but trying to identify which fuse it is, to help track down the fault - if it's like mine there are two banks of six fuses each - bank A goes

10A

10A

15A

15A

15A

10A

Bank B goes

20A

10A

10A

10A

10A

15A

I believe older cars had a different arrangement - there is a wiring diagram on westfield world -

http://westfield-world.com/wiring_menu.html