Gear ratios

chrisc

Hi there,

Recently purchased my first Westy and have a very basic question. The gear ratio is massive between 2nd and 3rd. When coming to a tight bend. I have to slow right down (more than should be necessary) before I can shift down into 2nd and when coming out of the bend. If I shift back up to 3rd at say 5000 revs, the revs fall far too low and I have no power. Can anyone give me advice as to a cheap solution? Is it possible to adjust the gear ratio on the current box? How can I identify which box I currently have? The guy I bought it from had a 5 speed box, but said he didn’t get around to fitting it. I have already been advised that it’s a big job changing a 4 speed to a 5 speed, especially for a complete novice like myself. :p 

21,000 miles, 1700 crossflow with a Burton head, Kent cam and twin 40 webbers 1989 pre lit, 4 speed.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated

ChrisC

Gear ratios are not adjustable other than changing the gear in the box it self. So it would be a gearbox out and away to someone like Quaif, Tran-X or if the car is road use BGH.

I see there being a couple of options.  You could change the diff ratio to make the overall gearing more suitable for the road.  The gear ratios on the four speed type E box are normally pretty good so I'm wondering if you have an odd diff ratio.  What sort of revs are you at, at say 50mph in fourth?  My old X-flow four speed would have been about 3500 and I found that the rest of the ratios were ok.

The other options is, as has been said, swap to a five speeder.  Its not a huge job, or so I've been told.  possibly a tiny bit of welding to fit new mounts.  There's plenty in the archives about this.

gadrego, not sure of revs in 4th at 50mph, will check tomorrow evening (if not lashing it down) and get back to you.

Matt, thanks for the info will bear it in mind. I'm on a tight budget at the moment so I may have to live with it for a while, just want to see what the options are.

???