MX5 as track day car

Richard Houlgate

I'm thinking of buying one so our sons (in their 30s) can have a go at track days.

Can anyone offer me any advice? What car to aim for? Tyres to use?

I'm an experienced speed series competitor and have done several track days before but my sons are complete novices.

Thanks

A few of us have MX5 track cars, they are extremely good fun and an excellent choice for a new track day driver as they are really forgiving and easy to drive. 

A 1.8 mk2 or 2.5 (mx5 nb) is the main contender - the mk2.5 has vvt and a smidge more power. 

most prefer the 5 speed box as it seems to have better track ratios. 

Things to look for: rust, rust and more rust! The front chassis rails, rear arches and sills are the main culprits. 

You can pick one up for around £1k and then spend £500 on a used roll bar, seat and harness combo. 

Tyres - get one with 15” wheels and buy the ex Ginnetta cup Michelin PS3s

Here is mine affectionately known as Rusty Bin 😁

DD1F8816-2213-4D89-8A67-55700278C852.jpeg.0e98f8b664b40d7485622a43229a55ae.jpeg

Cost £800 a year ago. 

Just bought another that has a really, really sound rust free body and a hardtop but a knackered engine. So will be fitting Rusty’s engine, box, LSD and track mods to make a good one out of the two. 

The mk3 mx5 with the 2.0 duratec is supposed to be very capable too, but never driven one. They are fairly cheap but no doubt suffer from similar rust issues. 

5 hours ago, Kingster said:

The mk3 mx5 with the 2.0 duratec is supposed to be very capable too, but never driven one. They are fairly cheap but no doubt suffer from similar rust issues. 

Yep, agree

very capable and quicker than a 1.8 mkI/II.

But definitely not as fun, not feeling as checkable. 

The newest nd 2l version gets back to the fun and even quicker but still too dear for a to be abused track car imo