Engine Fire!!

MrPid

One of our local chaps in our Southern Club had a lucky escape last night when his Tiger caught fire leaving the house.

He had his little boy in the car and was very lucky to still be within running distance of his house. He was able to grab a fire extinguisher and prevent a more serious incident and losing the car entirely.

He sent me a vid (which I am not going to post) and I can tell you, it happened in seconds!

The car has been on the road for a number of years and has just had a major overhaul. He is a mechanic and MOT tester by trade and currently trying to work out what caused the blaze.

It serves as a stark reminder how quickly fire can take hold and escalate, so please make sure you have a fire extinguisher on board at the very least.

Pics posted with his consent.

IMG_9512.JPG

IMG_9513.JPG

• Thanks 1
  • Sad 5

Glad they both survived. I'd always suggest not fastening harnesses until after engine has successfully started. Even more important with kids that need help to get out etc.

• Like 3

Tiger tiger burning bright.....

Glad he managed to save it. 

• Haha 1

2 hours ago, Ian Kinder (Bagpuss) - Joint Peak District AO said:

I'd always suggest not fastening harnesses until after engine has successfully started.

Great idea Ian...noted!

2 minutes ago, Chris Broster - Bristol & Bath AO said:

Great idea Ian...noted!

Good tip there - 

On this occasion, the engine was started and idled fine, albeit a bit lumpy. He left the garage (at the back of his house) and was just leaving the access road towards the front of the property when a small fireball appeared underneath the sump and took hold from there.

Lucky his wife was watching and screamed at him to stop, otherwise I doubt he would have seen it until it was much worse.

2 minutes ago, MrPid said:

Lucky his wife was watching and screamed at him to stop, otherwise I doubt he would have seen it until it was much worse.