gee_fin

The fastest accelerating Westfield in the world? The MegaWatt

gee_fin

Build Diary: The MegaWatt

A bold claim? Yep. A true one? Oh yes, it will be.... over 1000bhp/tonne and around 2000ftlbs/tonne should be enough to see to that.

(Those who know me on Facebook have seen hints about this, but now the car is effectively finished, time to detail it...)

So, to do an introduction to this build diary. My good friend Dan Johnson has been coming out to Barbados helping support us ever since we used to rally the Westfields out here 15 years ago, he got hooked, has been coming back 2-3 times a year since, even selling up and moving here for various six month stints. I recently rebuilt a Hayabusa turbo Westfield out here, which Dan helped with (see the build diary on here) and got into the drag racing scene on the island. Currently, my car holds the outright 2WD record. But not for much longer...

A professional mechanic/motor engineer by trade, Dan recaught the Westfield bug, having previously built a MegaBlade kit about 10 years ago, and so, with one eye on creating a mobile CV and one eye on a worldwide record he bought Martin Atwell's old MegaBird on the island in December 2015. A car we used to rally with and know inside out, but since then it had been sold on and fallen into a terrible state. In the UK it would probably be scrap, but not here, it's duty paid and registered/licensed so time to resurrect!

initial_1.jpg

I mean, the thing was in a state. It had been left outside for some time in this climate, chassis rust, bodywork a mess, all nuts and bolts rusted solid, engine dead, all the work that had been done on it since it left Martin seemed to be a total bodge job. Just awful.

initial_2.jpg

initial_3.jpg

And so the strip and debuild begins...

• Like 1

Kit Car Electronics

Now this looks interesting!

• Like 1

Nick - Joint North East AO

1000bhp/ton is doable. What engine is he planning on using?

Andy (Sycho)
  • Like 1

Johnny Phartipants