zetec or duratec 2.0/2.3/2.5

congorobot

I built my westfield se about 10 years ago, on a budget as I was a student at the time. It has 2.0 zetec with gsxr 600 tbs and megasquirt ecu. After a few teething problems with ecu settings, and with the help of Fatbaldbloke it has performed faultlessly since. The car has mainly been used for road but has had a couple of visits to the Nurburgring, the last was this August where I managed 27 laps over a weekend. Coming from this I now feel that if I am to keep the car I want to improve both power and grip as I plan much more track use. I have a budget of circa 10K but am unsure what route engine wise to follow. Other than engine/ecu/fuel delivery I want to fit a new gear box, roll bar, fuel tank, compomotive cxr and tyres. I am now unsure as to if I should stay with a zetec to reduce cost as things like engine mounts/exhaust could be re-used or if I should sell my engine/gearbox/ecu/tbs/exhaust as a job lot and go the duratec route. If I do go the duratec route then what capacity engine is best? I have read conflicting information on the web. The higher capacity 2.3 and 2.5 being more about torque and less rpm.   

I have no interest in selling the car and buying another although I realise this probably makes more financial sense.

I was just about to suggest changing the car, but then I read the last line of your message, haha. I was in a similar boat to you and did change the car entirely, it made a lot of sense in the end...

What sort of power / torque are you aiming for? That may help work out which route to go down engine-wise.

Hmm, probably just a set of cams and some headwork in your current engine would do that job? I actually used to have Ian's old car, the power delivery was lovely.

From memory a ~200bhp 2.0L Duratec setup would probably eat about half of your budget...