Starting my journey: carb or fuel Injected?

rhys_himself

Good afternoon all,

After thinking for a long while I have decided to join the kit car community, and that a Westfield is the car for me.

A petrol-head at heart but with most of my spannering being done on single-cylinder motorbikes, I'm a novice in this neighbourhood.

There are a few cars out there that fit my target, but I'm looking for guidance on the final choice. So, the lowdown...I'm looking for:

A car between £7-11k, but willing to make more simple-ish mods to reach my goals below
- Reliability for road, but...

- Power and handling for sporadic track days, (trips to Nurburgring are in mind)

- Versatility to take the missus for leisure trips (I.E. needs a windscreen and rain gear)

I'm pretty set on a 2.0L lump for power with ideal delivery, but at the moment I'm torn between carbs and fuel injection. I have minimal experience with both, and understand the concepts, but I suspect that in practice and for my use cases, fuel injection would prove most reliable in between weekend uses, easy to adjust (I.E. remap on any major changes) and more powerful?

I'm not finding many FI 2.0 Zetecs, but have come across this:
http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201506094170629/sort/locasc/radius/1500/page/1/price-to/12000/usedcars/make/westfield/quicksearch/true/postcode/sn154tr/price-from/5000/channel/cars/onesearchad/used%2Cnearlynew%2Cnew/image-id/3834c11c228f82418c927e2c87099f30?logcode=p

...my main concern here being the real wheel offset and mostly the straight cut gearbox. I'm guessing that will be LOUD and probably in there due to having been raced? Is the engine as reliable as I would hope?

Anyway essay over. PLEASE FURNISH ME WITH YOUR COLLECTIVE WISDOM, OH GREAT ONES :)

• Like 1

I think this car has been discussed already this week - see this thread http://forum.wscc.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic/114462-anyone-know-this-westie-for-sale-what-do-you-think/