Now the scams start

Norman Verona

Ad running on Autotrader. Get a gmail from this "person" asking my best price and is the car OK. I answer in the affirmative and get this in return:

Thank you for getting back to me. Please assure me that it's in good

condition and that i will not be disappointed with it.I'm ready to pay
your asking price and to be honest I am buying this for myself,but the
issue is i am s I am a marine engineer and I am at base right now But
I'm able to access email anytime as we will make use of laptop so my
only quickest payment option is PayPal as i can send money via PayPal
anytime. Since I'm requesting this transaction to be done via PayPal,
i will be responsible for all the Paypal fee/charges on this
transaction and if you don't have an account with Paypal, its pretty
easy, safe and secured to open one. Just log on to www.paypal.com. I
hope we can make the purchase as fast as possible? I have a mover that
will come for the pick up once payment clears and they will be
handling the title for me. So i look forward to hear from you soon.
Get back to me with your information:

1) Are you the owner?
2) Full Pick up location?
3) is there any other problems with the item not mentioned?
4) PayPal e-mail account for payment?
5) home address?

Thank you.

So, I've just said the car is for sale by cash only, You bring the cash and we go to the bank and theyt pay it into my account and you drive the car away, simples Boris

• Like 1

Could be genuine, it's only your email address he needs. PayPal is secure enough that he'll not be able to access your details.

However... PayPal favours the buyer. So if a few days later he puts in some kind of complaint I believe PayPal will refund him from your account. Not 100% sure on this.

Say his "Mover" could carry the cash and complete the transaction. Also the English used to write the email seems a bit dodgy IMHO and would flag up a warning to me.

Paypal is a 'Scam' in itself.

Agreed