Complete Newbie Questions

DavidC

Hello all,

I'm graduating from uni this summer and have a job lined up (providing I pass my degree  ??? ) and have decided to build or buy a 'seven' style car. At the moment I'm looking at Westies and MK Engineering's 'Indy' locost. Obviously the budget will be tight initially, but I have a few questions.

1) Westfields website mentions a starter kit (HERE) for £5000 that includes pretty much everything other than the engine, g'box, steering, wheels, front ups, radiator and horn.

But I got the latest brochure today, and I can't see any mention of this package in there at all. Is it actually a SEW starter kit with £3000 of Westfield sourced extras conveniently added to look like a £5k package?

2) Anyone used a Pug Mi16 engine before? What g'box and bell housing would I need to fit it? Tempted to go this route cos I've got a 306 S16 with the 2.0 Mi16 engine in it at the mo, and that's got a nice 155 bhp as standard. The pre-cat versions are even better, 1.9ltr 160bhp and a (comparatively) lightweight alloy block.

3) If to start with I used Sierra 2.0 donor parts, what kind of performnace would I be looking at, assuming the engine and box are in reasonably good running condition.

4) I've looked at Vulcan Engines website, and they list the 150bhp and 160bhp OHC Pintos at £2500 ish exchange. Does this meant you part ex a standard engine for a modified one, or are you paying the £2500ish for the mods to be done to your existing engine?

errrr...that's all I can think of at the moment.

Oh yeah, what are your opinions on buying 2nd hand westies (or any kit car really)?

Does the not-building-it aspect take some of the fun out of it, or does the turnkey thing kinda make up for that?

Right, 1 final question. If the Mi16 engine proved to be too much of a pain in the A***, which other engines would you recommend and why?

Thanks

David C

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• DavidC

• Blatman