Repairing crash damage - advice?

ABolton

Had a bit of a prang at Cadwell last month :(. It's not too bad, but there is some chassis damage. Around suspension mounts on the front offside corner a couple of chassis members are bent, and a couple of welds have torn. I'm not planning on fixing the chassis myself, but I was wondering whether I should just take it to any body shop or welding place or what? I've got very little experience with this kind of thing, but it seems a pretty simple job - cutting out the bent bits and rewelding in some new bits of square-section steel. And repainting, which I'm sure I can manage myself :).

Any advice generally on repairs of this nature would be much appreciated. I'm sure it's happened to a few people round here :).

Cheers, Andrew

It depends on how old the car is. If its relatively new, I personally would get the factory to do it. If its fairly old, I would probably have a go at getting it done as you suggest. Some people in the Speed Series hve had good results by getting it done themselves. It really depends how deep your pockets are.

John

I think I'd leave it to the factory regardless of the age.

It will be a much better (safer) repair if it is accomplished on the jig that the car came from in the first place. Bear in mind that welding a space frame chassis that isn't EXACTLY flat and square will lead to a bent chassis. IE I wouldn't do it on chassis stands, and I certainly wouldn't jack the car up on one end or side to weld!!!! Chassis jigs are set up to be perfectly flat/square  and have their dimensions checked frequently to ensure that they are perfect. Nothing else will do.

Keith Scarfe