Westfield loom or go DIY?

DIY-Si

Morning all. I'm nearing the point of needing to make a decision on my wiring loom. I need to decide between using the Westfield loom or using a universal kit car loom and wiring the car myself. Has anyone NOT used the Westfield loom, and have anything to report? 

For those that have used the loom, other the mods to use an alternator (who even runs a dyno any more?!) have you felt the need to alter anything, or wished certain wires were just a bit longer/shorter etc? Making a loom isn't something overly bothersome, but it will take me time. I'm happy to spend extra time to make the loom as tidy as possible, and ideally hide as many of the wires as possible under chassis tubes and so on. How possible is this with the stock loom?

Ian Kinder (Bagpuss) - Joint Peak District AO

Is this for an eleven? I've no experience of the loom on that. However the standard Seiw loom used for the ZK & FW bodies cars is modular. Hence has connectors to the engine loom you could miss out if making a loom yourself. Equally there may be circuits in the loom that you don't want or need and could miss out (.e.g Heater/Wipers). Also you may have new wires you can add to your own custom loom.

I cut a fair bit out of my loom as I don't need heater/wiper/washer wiring and was fitting an electric water pump. I also did away with the loom connectors to the dash as I was fitting a Dash2.

There's a fella in Northern Ireland that makes nice looms for kit cars- https://www.facebook.com/AWM-Engineering-106802560804582

Steve (sdh2903)

I did a hybrid.

I had a loom that came with the bundle of parts I bought. However I wasn't using any of the dash loom as I was incorporating an Aim dash and a freewheel. Also my 20yo loom had very few relays. 

So I kept the front section and the rear section, removed everything I didn't need and then used a combined fuse/relay box.