Kristian

Front Vibration

Kristian

Hi and thank you for my membership. 
I bought my kit back in 2017 and finalized the assembly spring 2018. Its a FW 175 bhp, Zetec 2.0l,.
Here is my pride.

pic1.jpg?psid=1&width=1064&height=798

Right after some driving I started to notice some vibration. As a rookie I started a long journey towards something I thought would be a quick fix.
Even when writing this I'm a bit tired of it but see you guys and your knowledge as a final solution and hope some of you could give me some advises.
I'm situated in Norway and we do not have local garages like you have. I would like to find a solution with your help.

This is what I have been doing so far:

1. New rims
  2. New tires
  3. New rear axles 
  4. Sent the prop shaft for service and fixed
  5. Sent the diff (Mazda LSD) for service and check - all good.
  6. Sent the car on a rolling road to check the vibration
  7. Sent the car to two different garages - no clue and interest what so ever
  8. New rear brake discs
  9. New front discs
  10. New front hub from Siltech incl bearings (what a quality)
  11. Sent the brace discs to check for run out, 0,05 mm and reduced to 0,001 - straight as a...
  12. Countless of hours investigating the issue.

What I'm experiencing is that it vibrates at low speeds, around 30 mph. It shakes and I believe its in the front. At high speed it did use to vibrate as well until new hubs from Siltech was assembled.

When using a dial indicator facing the hub I read 0,14 mm and disc 0,18 mm. This is to much and gets even more when checking the rim. 0,7 mm run out on the rim.

This is the setup and figures. Since I have a new hub from Siltech I suspect the stub on the upright is gone?

pic2.jpg?psid=1&width=869&height=798

And my theory is that this error will expand towards any outer rim.

pic3.jpg?psid=1&width=604&height=798

Any thoughts or experience? All comments, relevant of course, will be very much appreciated 🙂 

Geoffrey Carter (Buttercup)