Paul T

1999 SEiW 1800 Q Zetec - Rebuild & Update

Paul T

More of a refresh than a rebuild...hopefully it's interesting to others while giving me a way to record what I've done to the car...

Here she is the day I collected, I work in the Auto industry and have driven/owned all sorts of cars over the years including a number of classic Fords but this is my first Westfield. I'm the 3rd proper owner (first two were wife then husband).

We drove over 100 miles on day of purchase pretty much faultlessly, other than fuel and coolant temp gauge not working, wonky steering wheel, hole in the exhaust, noisy clutch release and rattling engine(!). We had an early start (4:30AM) and fully tested the wet weather gear en route, which works surprisingly well and I was impressed with the heater when used with the tonneau cover half zipped.

I'm a bit behind with this thread so will throw a few more posts up over the next week to get up to speed with the work done so far.

Photo_08-09-2018,_10_42_41.jpg

Photo 08-09-2018, 10 44 14.jpg

• Like 3

AdgeC

Embarrassingly tidy garage again ;). Looking forward to updates.

• Haha 1

Paul T

The first obvious issue was the rattling engine, for those that didn’t see my other thread it’s here;

Basically it’s seems the cams have either been misinstalled or underlubricated, video:

The more I dug into it I found a number of issues:

1. The thermostat was seized shut (the whole system was full of rust due to lack of antifreeze used(!)

2. No fan switch installed

3. Coolant temp gauge incorrectly wired

4. System was massively overcooling when driving due to old Westfield cooling pipe layout (permanent stat bypass) and the high efficiency alloy rad and ducted nose.

I’ve worked my way through these issues and am happy with how it’s running now, for info fixes were:

1. Removed damaged stat, flushed the system twice and fitted new 92Deg stat with a good quality antifreeze mix to keep away the rust