7Fan7

Hi everyone,

I'm a university student, currently working on a project with regards to the use of carbon fibre in kit cars such as the Westfields. Essentially, we are working with Axon Automotive on a passenger tub, where the passenger and the driver are seated, made entirely of carbon fibre (including the beams, the flooring and the side panels); whereas, the front and back of the chassis remain with the original steel frame chassis. So the method used to join the steel frame to the carbon fibre tub is through nuts and bolts. I'm currently conducting a survey just to determine your perception on the use of carbon fibre in kit cars, especially for the tub. More information about the product itself is available in the survey link below and I'd really appreciate if you could take a couple of minutes to answer the survey.

All responses will be stored anonymously and I really hope that I can get a great number of responses from you all. Click here for the Survey.

Cheers,

Will

AdamR

Done :t-up:

Dave (OnliestSmeg) -  Manchester AO
5 minutes ago, AdamR said:

Snap!

Mark (smokey mow)

Ditto :p

KugaWestie

Done

Peter (Monty)

Interesting product. The Formula Student car in my avatar was a hybrid chassis with front carbon monocoque and rear steel spaceframe, bolted together. Huge benefit in torsional stiffness and weight whilst avoiding the issues of mounting an engine to a carbon structure...

• Like 1

7Fan7
24 minutes ago, AdamR said:

18 minutes ago, Dave (OnliestSmeg) - Joint Manchester AO said:

Snap!

14 minutes ago, Mark Wendon (smokey mow) - WSCC Club Secretary said:

Ditto :p

7 minutes ago, Gary (KugaWestie) - North Oxfordshire AO said:

Done

If I promised a beer for every response, I'd probably be bankrupt by now hahah.

Cheers guys and thanks a lot for the information! If you could pull in more of your friends to answer the survey, that would be great!

Regards,

7Fan7

Dave Eastwood (Gadgetman) - Club Secretary