FW Special Build Thread by Complete Novices

SpikeB

I'm writing the first entry of our build thread from the passenger seat of a Luton van taking to us to Kingswinford to overnight before picking up our FW Special Edition kit tomorrow morning.

The excitement has been building for us from the moment we placed the order at the end of last year until now, the kit car is my 40th birthday present from my wife (who will definitely be the boss during the build!!). Today reminds me of that Christmas Eve feeling you used to get as a kid, you can't wait for tomorrow when you'll get to unwrap all those cool new toys!

We have spent the last 4 weeks turning our garage from a dirty & dusty place where we'd dump all manner of stuff to what I hope resembles a workshop fit for a Westfield.

The%20Workshop_zpskf0ywivw.jpg

We've got more tools and to come in a few weeks hopefully (my birthday  :) )

We really are complete novices, we've never tried anything remotely like this, its quite a daunting challenge but with your kind help and advice I'm sure we'll be driving around in a bright orange and black FW next spring!

We will be asking a LOT of questions, I'll apologise now for any questions which turn out to be silly or obvious  :d

Cheers

Steve & Karrena

• Like 5

Hello and welcome aboard.

One piece of timely advice - when you are at the factory, look at as many cars as you can. Take as many photos as you can.

Ask the guys there about sequence of build, get them to talk you through how they do it. Take photos of brake pipe runs, follow where the wiring loom is run. The manual, while it may look very comprehensive, is at best a guide and at worst a source of complete frustration. You will find you rely more on your photos.

If you can pick up some spare pieces of brake and fuel pipe, they are invaluable to practice on. If you can ask one of the guys to bend the smallest brake pipe for you, it is a notoriously difficult task!!