Electrical fault traced to ammeter - what next?

BillyPee

As some of you may know, my Westy died en route to the monthly meet last Thursday.

The battery was fine (hazards worked) but there was no live feed to the ignition barrel. RAC got me going with a temporary wire bypassing some of my (ahem) loom.

I found time yesterday to investigate and once I got behind the dash it turns out that the problem was really, really, simple to rectify. One of the wires going to the amp gauge had fallen off and connecting it back up completed the circuit providing power to the ignition barrel.

I'm still learning about car electrics but it doesn't seem right to me that a wire falling off a gauge should stop the vehicle from working (I'd have expected it to just mean that the gauge stops working). Or am I being too simplistic?

So I have spent some time searching the web learning more about how this gauge should be wired. Firstly, I have learnt a new word; the gauge is called an ammeter. It looks exactly like this product available from Holden:

070_022.jpg

Mine also is a 60 amp version (not the 30 amp) but without the SMITHS logo but is otherwise identical.

I then watched Holden's short video on Smiths classic 52mm voltmeter and ammeter gauges:

mqdefault.jpg

It seems that ammeters are inappropriate for vehicles with alternators (or at least serve no real purpose) so I am now questioning the benefit of fitting it at all. I haven't really paid any attention to reading the gauge in the past as all it seems to do is flick a little bit whenever I have my indicators on.

Any recommendations on how to proceed?

My options appear to be:

1. Do nothing (well maybe just tidy up the wiring as its a bit short at the moment which is why it fell off).
  2. Leave the gauge in the dash but rewire so that a loose cable falling off doesn't kill the car at 3500 RPM on the dual carriageway! I was lucky this time, might not be so lucky next.