Sign in to follow this  
gary marsh

Dooh - chassis straightening

gary marsh

Following an overenthusiastic exit from Gerrards at Mallory Park on Friday I have an embarrassingly bent front nearside.

Putting aside the replaceable bits, my main issue is a slightly bent chassis; the nearside top rail is bent a couple of centimetres out of true between about half way along the engine bay (it is a 1991 SEiW which has a diagonal brace running forward to that point) and the front rail. The top front rail accordingly has a slight bow in it but the offside looks fine.

No sign of any cracks in tubes or welds.

Does anyone have experience of getting a chassis straightened rather than going back to the factory for a new front frame?

I am in the Birmingham area.

Regards

Gary

peterg

Calling SteveD to the Boardroom :t-up:

Captain Colonial

The factory or SteveD are your first ports of call - I'd be straight on the phone to both, and having photos to email to them will be a big help.

Really, really sorry to hear about your bump, hope you'll be back in business soon! :)

peterg

The factory or SteveD are your first ports of call - I'd be straight on the phone to both

as above.... but Steve's more likely to answer the phone :laugh:  :oops:

luxseven

Been there ... you mean something like that?

Can be saved, ask SteveD, I had to do it locally (Luxembourg) because Steve was to far from me.

I recommend a complete strip, at least of the front, to be able to measure.

Sorry for that, know what it's like ... :down:

Cheers.

Jos

seven+020.JPG

Norman Verona

Oh well, if we're showing our broken bits:

accident21.jpg

Gary, phone SteveD, he's your man to sort it, at the right price and (relatively) quickly.

cast iron

Its not a difficult job if you put your mind to it. I tried the experts and just got p******** around. Did it myself after the second collision, never looked back

gary marsh