Career change?

Deanspoors

What would you be if you could start all over again?

At 31, I've been working offshore for the past 8 years, currently a Senior Systems Engineer, previously an Electrical Service and Commissioning Engineer, and before that a Electrical/Mechanical Maintenance Engineer. Offshore, has started to become much less desirable with salary and time off steadily decreasing. And whilst the job is still relatively attractively paid in comparison to working onshore, I have recently started contemplating trying to find employment onshore or even training in a new trade altogether. I'm currently working 5 week on/off rota so have the ability to look into self training / attending courses / business building, etc. in my time off.

So as a bit of fun and with a little bit of seriousness, what jobs would you consider?

Prerequisites are;

* Reasonably well paid

* Skilled / hands on preferential

* Self employed preferential

* Reasonable setup cost < 50k

* Enjoyable (Non monotonous)

Dean

Train to be a heli pilot for one of the offshore operators. More than £50k though. 

Electrician and plumber. You’ve already got the skills, just need to pass a few tests to get legal. No shortage of work for good ones of either trade, being able to do both would make you more in demand I’d think.

Heli pilot not a good shout at the moment, far too many highly qualified ex military types still in the market.

• Like 1

I looked into becoming a commercial pilot last year, but because I’m colourblind I had to do an advanced eye test down in London.. which I failed :(  I did contemplate becoming a plumber as the three I know make a small killing, but it appears the qualifications that actually mean something take a lot of time to get, never say never though, it’s a possibility. With regards to electrician, I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to pass Part-P and have done my 16th edition so 17th editions should be too taxing. 

2 hours ago, Thrustyjust said: