Non Westy: Max5 (Mazda Mx-5 Race Series) Blog

AdamR

Foreword: This is a copy and paste from a different forum, so it may seem a little out of context at points, but hopefully it will be useful info to anyone thinking of doing some racing, but not sure where to start (like me a few weeks ago!).

Original post date: 23rd April:

Hello all,

After reading Alan's blog here, I decided it would be good to do something similar, since the amount of info available for people looking to get into Max5 Racing seems to be relatively thin on the ground and/or spread about. I'm going to try and document my 'journey' in one thread, with all the things I needed to consider and buy easily visible.

So, here goes...!

I'm fairly new to MX-5s, got one at the start of the year and have done one trackday at Blyton in it (

- me driving from 7:13 onwards), but have done about a dozen track days over the last couple of years. I still find them great fun, but I am one of those people who likes to try and better myself, and learn new stuff.

My thought process went something like this:

Trackdays are great, but what's next?

Sprints? Hmm. Not great value in terms of £/minute of driving. Need all the safety kit too which isn't all that cheap.

Racing? Hmm. Can end up a bit 'wallet racing'. Not keen on that. Still need all the safety kit... Much better £/minute than sprints though, and can always use the car for trackdays too.

So - racing it is. What's a relatively cheap series where the cars are controlled by fairly strict regulations, and it's not going to just end up with a 'who can spend the most money wins' scenario? Looked at stuff like Formula Vee (single seaters, based on the old aircooled VW Beetle), Formula Ford, Trackday Trophy... then realised I had already driven an MX-5 on track. and it was a bl**** brilliant car.