Westy, optimum power output ?

McDuff

As a newcomer to Westy ownership I was talking to a well known engineer recently' who did quite a lot of work on engines for Westfield some years ago.

He made the point that after many hours of track testing, 170 BHP was probably the optimum power output of this type of car, since with that output, with practice it was possible to consistently keep ahead of the V8 powered examples, at least on the track.

I have limited experience with Westfields,  but would be interested to hear other people's thoughts .

I have 185bhp which is one thing and 165ftlbs of torque which is another.  i have 'plenty' of performance and don't have to change gear all that often.

I have 260bhp/240lbft. In many respects it's too much for the road, in that I can't use it all. On the flip side of that of course it's nice to have in reserve. On track the power is much more useful. Overall I think I enjoyed road driving more when I had 170bhp, but it's marginal as I do quite like having lots in reserve. It's much less marginal when the roads are slippery :d

Steve Hole from TKC magazine has always said that 150-160bhp is for a road going Caterham type car is about the right level. With that on the road you have to drive it to get the best out of the car.

I have 200bhp and you never get to use it at all on the road but on the track it is never enough. 10 years ago 200bhp was a big number but now 250-260 is common with ease, which makes a really fast car and keeps you in front on track days of the 500-600bhp EVO guy's who otherwise come past on straights and then teeter around corners.

A lot depends on the setup in my experience.

I 'only' have 175bhp in mine but at sprints so far this year I have been quicker than a 220bhp westfield, 225bhp caterham an R500 and an arial atom.

Granted the latter 2 were poorly driven but the former had a lot to do with gearing.