tax and self employed

dombanks

anyone here a financial adviser and knows about doing taxes? im in talks with a company but they want me pay my own taxes and its something i really have no clue about. I dont really want to say much more about who they are, what they do, and why they want to work this way on an open forum.

ive been reading the hmrc site a bit and what i don't get is at the moment i pay XXX NI and the uni pays XXX NI which is a bit more than my contribution so if i were to be self employed do i have to cover both mine and what the uni pays at the mo? i tried a few calculators and all it says is i would have to pay class 2 at  £xx.xx and class 4 at £XXX.00 which is no where near what the "cost of an employee" calculator the university says its costs to employ me at the moment. so im a bit confused.

I've been a sole trader for a year now so have to fill in my first tax return soon - as I understand it, it's class 2 at £2-odd a week + class 4 at 9% of your 'profit'.  But I'm sure someone will know more about it than I do.

As a sole trader ( self employed ) you will need to pay for your own holidays, finance your first 4 weeks, pay for your sickness, look at effect on pension fund etc

NI is low and completing forms not expensive and you can use accountants who are not too expensive to guide you

You will be able to keep records of expenses to claim against tax including travel etc

You need an invoicing system

You may need to take out Public liability and Professional indemnity insurance if needed and watch how much you earn as you may need to be VAT registered

Setting up your company is quite easy

HMRC are quite hot on what constitutes an employee and have an online test so one can check one's status.

The reason is that if  a company uses freelances rather than employees, then HMRC (and thus the Great British Public) are likely to see less tax.